New Game Announcements at E3 2017

This year’s E3 didn’t fail to excite with all the new announcements from the big three platforms. I have to say I was underwhelmed by the Xbox One X (dumbest name ever) but a lot of games got me really jazzed for the next year. Most were expected, but some nice surprises too…

Metroid Prime 4
The biggest “holy crap” moment of E3 for me and probably many others. The Switch really needs more marquee games and this really fits the bill. Now if we ever see it anytime soon…

Uncharted: The Lost Legacy
Something I was already 100% going to get. I liked the tension between Chloe and Nadine. They’re working together but there looks like a lot of mistrust that will make for an interesting dynamic.

Dishonored: Death of the Outsider
A really pleasant announcement. It wont be a full-sized game but looks to be a lot meatier than a typical DLC. I wouldn’t be surprised if this was the last thing we get in the Dishonored franchise, which is a shame. (Go get these games, seriously.)

Spider-man
Got an extended trailer and the gameplay looks a lot like the Batman Arkham games, which I don’t necessarily view as a bad thing. I just hope they have a few new twists on the formula to not be totally derivative. And hopefully not too many quicktime events. Still looks really fun.

Anthem
Looks like Bioware is pulling a Destiny (with a bit of Titanfall). Not 100% sold on this yet but I’m curious. Still sad about no Mass Effect news.

Star Wars Battlefront 2
This game looks gorgeous and epic. But I feel like I bought the first game not that long ago and am a bit annoyed that I sunk so much cash into it only to have to move on to the sequel so soon. I may hold out on it if I can.

Detroit: Become Human
Another beautiful looking game. I always love the Choose Your Own Adventure style games so I’m pretty much hooked. The trailer had a very anti-human angle which is really curious since we’re all, y’know, humans. Or ARE we??

God of War and Shadow of the Colossus
Never played these games, but the trailers are starting to win me over.

Days Gone
Still not sure what to make of this game. Looks like there are some impressive mechanics in it, but I’m a bit tired of zombies, and it feels enough like Last of Us to make me a bit put off.

Cuphead
I absolutely LOVE the graphics in this game and I’m a bit bummed that it’s an Xbox exclusive (for now).

Life is Strange: Before the Storm
The more I hear, the more worried I get. The voice actress for Chloe isn’t even performing the dialog???

Mario Odyssey
I was initially put-off by the urban setting, but as usual, Mario games display an echelon of inventiveness that is hard to not get excited over. Plus we may not see Metroid for a while so this could be a good gap between that and Zelda.

Leave a Reply

